Leave a comment

The Girl on the Train

The Girl on the TrainThe Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3 1/2 stars.
For the first two thirds of this book the three main characters, who are all female, drove me NUTS! Whinging, whining, irritating losers and liars – all three. Rachel, who is the focus voice, is an unemployed alcoholic, an ex-wife, and the most unreliable of unreliable narrators. Megan is also a liar, but is up front with us about what she has lied about. And Anna is a psychotic, paranoid liar. Not three of the most attractive protagonists I’ve ever read. But each of them evokes sympathy and empathy for the situations they have willingly put themselves in. I think that thing I found most frustrating about them all was their passivity – how prepared they were to be walked all over by other people, how trusting. Even in the last moments of the book, when I was shouting at the car stereo to tell them what they should do, their lack of decision making skills was beyond belief.

That said, it is a gripping read in the end. I guessed the ending about two-thirds of the way through, so the rest of the book I was just waiting to see if I was right, but the tension builds and builds and builds, until you finding yourself screaming at the top of your lungs for them to run the hell away! Somewhat obvious, but entertaining.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

