Leave a comment

Wolf Hall

Wolf Hall (Wolf Hall Trilogy, Book 1)Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Although I wouldn’t consider myself a reader of historical fiction, when I do read then I generally enjoy them a lot (see my review of Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth).
This is a fascinating look at a pivotal time in England’s history. Henry VIII is on the throne, and is ditching his wife of twenty years on a technicality. Enter Thomas Cromwell, a character whom I had very little knowledge of, but who iwas clearly the power behind the throne.
The son of a blacksmith publican, Walter Cromwell, who is quick to lash out at any of his family, Thomas rises through the ranks, first as lawyer to Cardinal Wolsey and then as adviser, treasurer and Master Secretary to Henry. The machinations of the court are fascinating, and this audio version is beautiful read/ acted by Simon Slater.
I’ve taken off a star because of a matter of style – throughout the book Cromwell is referred to as ‘he’, but so is every other male character, which at times is exceedingly confusing! Listening to the audiobook was helpful in this regard.
I would recommend Wolf Hall to everyone. I enjoyed it so much I’ve just downloaded the sequel, Bring Up The Bodies! Enjoy!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

