Leave a comment

One True Thing

One True ThingOne True Thing by Nicole Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What do I think?
I think that Nicole Hayes has done an amazing thing – she has taken a subject that many teenagers would find dry and dusty, and she’s turned it into an intriguing, heartfelt, gripping teenage relationship/ friendship/ romance, with a serving of political intrigue on the side.
Just as Nicole’s first book, The Whole of my World, was not entirely about footy, One True Thing is also not about politics – but at the same time it really is. What gets me every time about both these books is that Nicole’s choice to base her stories in worlds in which girls and women are marginalised and disenfranchised is both brave and uplifting. I saw myself in both the teenage protagonists AND the parents – the teenage me that could name everyone in the Melbourne Football Club teams of the 70s and 80s, and most of the players on the other teams as well, and the parental me that can see mistakes being made and who knows how the world works.
My favourite character is not Frankie, the daughter of the acting Premier of Victoria and main character, but Kessie, the straight-talking mini-justice minister who is Frankie’s best friend. Chutzpah, my friends! More front than Myer. An activist. A lesbian. And a rock-chick. Sigh.
Seriously, give this book a go. You won’t be disappointed.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

