Leave a comment

If I Stay

If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)If I Stay by Gayle Forman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Im finding it hard to believe that I am giving this book five stars. Sometimes I just get a prejudice in my head, and I can’t shake it. Maybe it was because I wasn’t that fussed over Just One Day. Perhaps it was the whole book to film thing. Whatever it was, it was crap. Yeah, this is a tear-jerker. But it’s a fabulous, build you up, tear you down, build you up again, tearjerker.
There’s one particular passage that got me, and I can’t even quote it hear because of spoilers, but I will say that it’s on page 161 of the Dutton edition, and involved Mia and her Grandad. And for me it was gut-wrenchingly familiar.
With my T-L hat on this would be a brilliant book for Year 9 – families, music, history, classical, punk, rock, pop, love. And this edition includes interviews with the Stars of the movie. Perfect.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

