Leave a comment

Coal Creek

Coal CreekCoal Creek by Alex Miller
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I found this book very hard to engage with. Bobby Blue’s voice is so strong and his personality shines through every word. He dominates the story and that’s not necessarily a good thing. I was actually more interested in Irie’s story. I felt like Miller was hitting me over the head with the foreshadowing, which was not at all subtle. Daniel and Esme seemed malevolent from the beginning, with Bobby giving us clues as to their real characters very early on. I would have liked to get to know them as Bobby saw them early in the relationship, but Bobby’s hindsight narration is a spoiler.

That said, the writing is beautiful. I just couldn’t connect enough with anyone in the story.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

