Leave a comment

CASSANDRA GOLDS – WINNER OF THE 2013 NANCE DONKIN AWARD

How absolutely delightful for Cassandra, and well deserved, I think! 🙂

IMG_0248ed_2Congratulations to Cassandra Golds, winner of the 2013 Nance Donkin Award for an outstanding woman author in Australia who writes books for children. The award is presented biennially by the Society of Women Writers Victoria and was last presented to Isobelle Carmody.

We are delighted to be able to share with you Cassandra’s lovely acceptance speech below, with her kind permission.

 

 

Ladies and gentlemen,

I am tremendously pleased to accept the Biennial Nance Donkin Memorial Award for 2013. I would like to express my gratitude to The Society of Women Writers Victoria for nominating me and I would particularly like to thank
the judge, Robyn Burns, for selecting me as this year’s recipient. It provides me with an opportunity to acknowledge the important role that librarians like Robyn have played in the rise of Australian children’s literature. I will never
forget my own wonderful primary school librarian and the sheer magic…

View original post 340 more words

Leave a Reply

