Leave a comment

Trouble crossing The Ink Bridge

Sue has succinctly encapsulated my thoughts on this book, although I was less engaged with Omed’s story than her. I just had no emotional connection to either of the young men. That said, two colleagues at work have read it and loved it. It’s a polarising book, that’s for sure.

Worth Reading? Worth Sharing!

The Ink BridgeThe Ink Bridge by Neil Grant

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a book I had been looking forward to reading very much, and as I read the first part of the novel, focussing on Omed and his story, I thought it would live up to my expectations. Omed’s life is a dangerous one, full of violence and uncertainty. The scenes where his tongue is cut out were among the most emotionally effecting I have read. I was enjoying Grant’s writing style and flourishes of prose. Then I started reading Hec’s story…and then the story of Hec as an adult trying to reconnect with Omed and it lost me. I found Hec a difficult character to like. I found it difficult to picture him in the situations he found himself. I found it even harder to connect with him as an adult character as I did not know…

View original post 99 more words

Leave a Reply

